Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Published Poets of Union Ridge
Published Poets of Union Ridge
Marianne Mack
Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Copied from the Poetry Moves website:


This Poetry Moves celebration event will feature a poetry reading by the students whose work was chosen through the Poets in the Schools Program and in partnership with Arts of Clark County. It will also feature a C-Tran bus with all poem cards showcased for photo opportunities and a chance to see the cards as they will appear. Poems will appear on the buses from July 2018 to December 2018.

2018 Season Six Poetry Moves Winners are:

Annie S., 3rd Grade, Eisenhower Elementary: Ode to Summer

Margaret H., 4th Grade, Hearthwood Elementary: The Beach

Nyomi S., 4th Grade, Hough Elementary: Snowy Mountains

Ella J., 4th Grade, Hough Elementary; Across the River

Hanna P., 5th Grade, Union Ridge Elementary; The Butterfly that Stands Out

Grace W., 5th Grade, Union Ridge Elementary; To be a Book in 2068

Lillianna K., 5th Grade, Union Ridge Elementary; Land of Magic

Noah S., 5th Grade, Union Ridge Elementary; Spaceships

Christina S., 12th Grade, Vancouver School of Arts & Academics, How the Phoenix Flies and Strangers

Poetry Moves is made possible by a partnership between Arts of Clark CountyC-TRAN, and Poets in the Schools, a program created by Clark County Poet Laureate Christopher Luna (2013-2017). The Poets in the Schools workshops were led by local poets Jim Martin, Alex Vigue, Morgan Hutchinson and Christopher Luna.

Additional thanks goes to:

Cameron Suttles, who designed and created the channel cards highlighting the winning poems and Toni Partington for managing the Poets in the Schools program and teaching Poets. Many thanks to everyone involved in this project for bringing poetry to the people of Clark County and congratulations again to the winners!